Genesis 32:26

“Then Jacob was left alone; and a Man wrestled with him until the breaking of day. Now when He saw that He did not prevail against him, He touched the socket of his hip; and the socket of Jacob’s hip was out of joint as He wrestled with him. And He said, “Let Me go, for the day breaks.” But he said, “I will not let You go unless You bless me!””‭‭Genesis‬ ‭32:24-26‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

In the above story , that was Jacob before God called him Israel. 

The hip joint is an important anatomy of the human body , in fact , for older people, if you felled down, there is a risk of femur fracture and along with it comes complication. 

It represents an important supporting bone , structure of our human existence . Without it , our daily lives would be severely affected . 

As Jacob wrestled with God, I really don’t know how he did it ??? God touched his hip socket and it came undone , and for the rest of his life , Jacob limped , and properly needed a staff to support himself on. 

It is a reminder to us , that we need to be defeated by God , and to lean on Him . All that Jacob had been , conniving , schemer, escape artist , he have to lay it down before God , and allow God to defeat him. Because , we can never win against God . 


Like the branches , I stand towering over my daughter  , as an ex army guy, all that I have ever know in my life was to defend and to attack, and some survival skills like ropes knots and some fire starting . 

My instinct is to protect and to defend my child , especially in our circumstances , where we attracts a lot of pointers , stares  and sometimes, accuser. 

My protective instinct is to shoot back with my words and sternly said to adults or children , “stop pointing , or stop staring ” 

In a service , one week after emerge , on Saturday 16th July 2016 , The Holy Spirit painted me an image of another child whom I have hurt with my words, the look of bewilderment on her face said it all. My words have power , and that of the negative kind. And I need to watch my mouth . Cruel as it may seems , I need to not retort back , but to teach my daughters how to pray , and how to bless , instead of shooting back with words. 

I need to be defeated by God in all that I have known and build my life upon . 

Vengeance is Mine, ( Hebrews 10:30, Romans 12:19)many times, I would rather read it as , vengeance is fine. 

But I need to display and exhibit the character of Christ , in me , as my daughters , and other children , would be watching . I cannot contradict The Word of God. 

God help me , as only you can . 

Tan Kok Siang,

Sunday 17th July 2016

Leave a comment