1 Corinthians 9:24-27

image

Don’t  you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win!

All  athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize.

So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing.

I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 NLT

In modern athlete parlance , we talk about diet and exercise regime, AMRAPs , protein mixes , and the correct and best attire and shoes.

In  Christian practical living, perhaps we could sum this up to denying our carnal desires by subjecting it to a spiritual regime. Such as avoiding roadblocks and traps that would weigh us down with sin. (Hebrews 12:1)

Combat hard against fleshly lusts (Matthews Henry Commentary )

Our body need to be subjected to discipline , in order to line up behind the spiritual inner man .

Run the race so that we may obtain, and in a Christian race, all may obtain, God is inclusive, I think

I hope you are bless.

Tan Kok Siang

8th December 2015 GMT +8

( photo taken from Google)

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment