Dwelling in us.

Do not let your hearts be troubled (distressed, agitated). You believe in and adhere to and trust in and rely on God; believe in and adhere to and trust in and rely also on Me.

In My Father’s house there are many dwelling places (homes). If it were not so, I would have told you; for I am going away to prepare a place for you.

And when (if) I go and make ready a place for you, I will come back again and will take you to Myself, that where I am you may be also.

And [to the place] where I am going, you know the way.

John 14:1-4 AMPC

forest-river-house-mill

The above is a photo taken off the web. Maybe I am having a mid life crisis , I think about my life, my destiny and my wishful house.

I was having a conversation with my firstborn daughter after our short cartoon Bible reading on Sunday(20th August 2017)  and Monday night.

I am amazed at the mind of small children , she is four , and the simple , direct questions that she asked.

I did not want her to have a watered down version of The Gospel , so I try to explain profound Theological questions as simply as I could , I also , gasped , showed her a movie clip from <The Passion> , yes, the whole bloody part and all.

Eloise : “Daddy , why do the bad guys(Romans soldiers)  hit Jesus ?”

Me: ” Jesus was scourged to fulfil Old Testament prophecies concerning Him”

Eloise : “Is Jesus not strong ? I never see Him fight back when the bad guys hit him.”

Me: ” It is not that Jesus was not strong, He did not came as a warrior or General , as The Jews thought their Messiah would be , but rather, He came as a humble servant, He endured the pain of the cross.”

Eloise: ” Daddy, what are those sharp sharp things?

Me: ” There were nails driven into His hands and legs, His blood was shredded to cleanse away our sins, past, present and future. It was very painful for Jesus , but He choose to remain there so as to purchase our justification and salvation. He loves us so much.  ”

Eloise: ” Why did the bad guys want to kill Him? ”

Me : ” The Romans made an example of criminals by crucifixion , The Pharisees were threatened by His existence and claims. ”

Eloise : ” So after three days , Jesus lives ? ”

Me : ” Yes darling, after three days He resurrected and He lives forevermore.”

Eloise  : ” So now , He stays inside our heart ? ”

And so , I had a remembrance of the Scripture , I go and prepare a place for you.

It dawned upon me that this place could , I write, could , because I am not a Greek Scholar and this thought is entirely metaphorical.

Rooms mean mansion or dwelling places.

Place mean a secluded place , a solitary place, an actual physical place.

Our heart is an actual physical place , it occupies a place in our body , it is secluded because no one knows it except God and ourselves . (Jeremiah 17:9 , Matthew 13:1-23, Luke 6:45 )

We need good ground to build our foundations and houses , in the building process , our heart’s capacity would be expanded .

Notice that in verse one, Jesus said not to let our hearts be troubled.

Could it be that He go and prepare a place for you , I go and prepare a new heart for you ? While we are here on earth.

It could be read as ;

In My Father’s House there are many hearts , I am going away (to be crucified)make ready(purchase our lives , the great exchange, the divine Love story , atonement sacrifice )  a place for you, I will come back again and will take you to Myself, that where I am you may be also.  v3 .

I will come back again , could mean the sending of The Holy Spirit or the Second Coming.

It is a physical place on earth , where I am you may be also !

That means, wherever we are , there He is with us.

His present dwelling place is also in our hearts !

And to the place I am going, you know the way !

He is the way, the truth and the life ! John 14:6

I hope you are blessed !

Tuesday 22 August 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment