Leadership By Example.

Uriah said to David, The ark and Israel and Judah live in tents, and my lord Joab and the servants of my lord are camping in the open field. Shall I then go to my house to eat and drink and lie with my wife? As you live and as my soul lives, I will not do this thing.

2 Samuel 11:11 AMPC

This is not a journal post on adultery , although it was a low point of the story

This is a verse on Leadrship by example.

Uriah thought about the morale and well-being of the men under his charge.

Loyalth must flow down before it flows up.

Empathy and putting yourself in the boots of your men is so important.

Considering their working (warring) and  living conditions is so important.

He did not seat in his air-con office to prepare nice power points, fiddle his thumb ,  work on his hobby in the name of work , he clearly understood the harsh realities on the ground.

Uriah understood that the battlefield changes. And so must the tactics and decision.

Uriah was clearly brave and courageous too, alas , it ended in his death.

uriah_killed

(Artwork by Andrew Burward-Hoy )

Heavy topic, I think this short post do no justice to Uriah and the  numerous lessons from the books of Samuel

Personally , I think, leadership is a life long journey and learning experience.

May we lead like Jesus.

12th February 2017

Leave a comment