For we swim by faith and not by sight.

Nope, this is not a biological post on the abilities of whales to transcend oceans.

From 2000-2004 , as part of my job in the army , I do need to dive , from time to time, if I am not writing accident reports or shooting at a piece of paper.

I was blessed that I had paid vacation diving trips to France and United States. Okay , for clarifications, they were working trips , It happened to be cold in L’orient and the currents at Key West was fast !

I was just an average guy , I did not always manage to secure a ladder onto a ship nor do I always remain submerged and hidden.

But there was a piece of equipment , that you must hold on to and if you followed it , it will get you to your destination.

It was a compass board .

DNB100-Nav-Board

 

You hold on to it as level as you can , align the compass direction, compensate for tides , currents , and swim towards your destination.

The same is true for clear or murky waters , day or night .

I had since learnt that The Bible is our compass in life , hold on to it for dear life , and keep going in the direction that God may have prompted you , there will be drifts and there will be current pushing against us , we just have to keep trusting the Word of God .

Follow the compass.

Follow what God had spoken to you.

I think it is sure and clear in a world of conflicting logic , viewpoints , good advices and  humanism

 

We are hedged in (pressed) on every side [troubled and oppressed in every way], but not cramped or crushed; we suffer embarrassments andare perplexed and unable to find a way out, but not driven to despair;

We are pursued (persecuted and hard driven), but not deserted [to stand alone]; we are struck down to the ground, but never struck out and destroyed;

2 Corinthians 4:8-9 AMPC

 

 For we walk by faith [we regulate our lives and conduct ourselves by our conviction or belief respecting man’s relationship to God and divine things, with trust and holy fervor; thus we walk] not by sight or appearance.

2 Corinthians 5:7 AMPC

I hope you are encouraged.

Tan Kok Siang,

1st August 2017

Leave a comment