Laugh like a child again

“Jesus called a little one to his side and said to them, “Learn this well: Unless you dramatically change your way of thinking and become teachable, and learn about heaven’s kingdom realm with the wide-eyed wonder of a child, you will never be able to enter in. Whoever continually humbles himself to become like this gentle child is the greatest one in heaven’s kingdom realm.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭18:2-4‬ ‭TPT‬‬

“He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭18:2-4‬ ‭NIV‬‬

I was reading an article on how laughter can help to builds resilience and the ability to adapt to adversity, trauma, trade YY, threats, or stress

When children are are resilience, they are braver, more curious, more adaptable, and more able to obtain happiness and success

Resilience cushions us from mental health conditions like anxiety and depression. (Mayo Clinic 2015)

Laughter plays a huge role in on how handle adversity. By teaching our child to laugh even in times of pain, we are giving them a key tool that will help them be more resilient as they grow older.

An average 40 years adult laughs only four times a day

An average 4 years child laughs 300 times a day!

Think of that.

Then I came to the realisation that when Jesus tells us to become a child again, He is also telling us adults, to laugh again, to learn to laugh again

Let’s us learn to rejoice always and laugh even at ourselves and at life’s difficult circumstances that we may find ourselves in.

Let me learn to laugh even when my children make a mess out of the toys or spilled their food all over the floor

Let me learn to laugh even when unkind colleagues makes uncouth remarks about me

Let me learn to laugh when things don’t goes the way I planned, or when 7 companies rejected my application

Let me learn to laugh even when the home is not ready, there would be a change of schools, and even if I have to walk in the drizzle to catch the next bus.

I hope you are blessed

Tan K S

  • Singapore, (25th November 2019)

Leave a comment